SSRS Hide Duplicates

In SQL Server Reporting services, it is deceiving that there are two ways to get to properties on objects.  Both property menus display different options, so you must examine both when you’re looking for a property.  Most of the time, I right-click on an object, and choose Properties.   But there are more advanced options in the dockable Properties window.  You must first select the object, then go to the Properties window.

The ‘Hide Duplicates’ property is a powerful tool to make values appear only once per data set or group.  Here are some examples of the various options.

Image

DataSet

In my properties dropdown, my dataset is named DataSet1.  In my report the Paid Date of 4/3/12 will only appear once.  When a different paid date shows up, it will also be displayed once.

 

 

Group

In my properties dropdown, my group is named CheckNo.  In my report the Paid Date of 4/3/12 will appear once per check number.   (This is actually the setting I wanted for this particular project)

 

Detail level

In my properties dropdown, my detail level is named table1_details_group.  Not sure I understand why this setting exists, because it’s the same as choosing None.  In my report the Paid Date of 4/3/12 will appear  on every line.

 

This entry was posted in Business Intelligence and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SSRS Hide Duplicates

  1. RK says:

    What about SQL Server 2012 and above? We don’t have the “Hide Duplicates” option in SSRS 2012 and above.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Excellent this did exactly what I wanted.

Leave a comment